Creating Characters: Visual Brainstorming (Part 1)

I am busy at work on my second book and in the midst of what I consider one of the most fun things about writing: creating characters.

I love being able to think about someone in my mind and bring them to life on the page. I love daydreaming about their past, present and future.

This time around I am trying a different approach to characterization: visual brainstorming, which is basically using images and objects to generate ideas.

My first task was to purchase a whiteboard to hang in my office. I purchased one through officemax.com. So far, I’ve used it to “draw” (and I use that term loosely) out the goal, motivation and conflict that are driving my character’s actions. 

See below: I call it my GMC Bulls-eye. More on that in future blog post, as I’m still refining this technique.

Dominique's Brain on a Wall

I never thought I’d say this, but I LOVE MY WHITEBOARD! It’s a great place to quickly jot down ideas and thoughts about my characters.  It was worth every penny.

Note: The “I Like Pie” in the corner was Lil’ Angel’s addition. Derek does NOT like pie. He likes hot fudge sundaes. And smart women with long, sexy legs. And …well…you have to wait for the book…because I don’t even know what else he likes yet! 🙂

Next up, I’m going to scour my house for objects that represent the story I’m trying to tell and my characters who are living and breathing every moment of it. I will share those items (or at least pictures of them) with you in an upcoming blog post. 

In the meantime, save paper and go buy a whiteboard. If you don’t use it for characterization — it’s great for grocery and to-do lists!

MLUV:) Be blessed.

Dominique

Leave a Reply

