Falling in Love with Your Writing

Writing isn’t easy. Neither is love.
I don’t know about you, but I have a love/hate relationship with my writing. Somedays I love what I do. I’m in the groove. Every thought I have somehow seems to translate into the perfect word. And when I’m done for the evening, I am on cloud nine. Sometimes, I am so excited about what I wrote that I cannot sleep. Swoon!

Other days…not so much. Those are usually the days when the words aren’t flowing from fingertip to screen as easily as I like. I’m struggling to sit down at the keyboard, and when I get there, I just want to be doing something else. Like sleeping.

Paralle-lov-o-gram
Remember that heartbreaking tune “I Can’t Make You Love Me?”, sung so beautifully by Bonnie Raitt? The words were reality check for me the first time I heard them. How many times have you and I tried so hard to make someone love us? Our parents? Our children? Our man? Friends? Be honest. We’ve all experienced this.

When I realized I can’t make someone do anything, least of all return feelings they do not share, a burden was lifted from my shoulders. And I knew that I could love someone and be ok with that person not loving me back. Sure it sucks. Yes, it hurts. But it’s better than that four-letter alternative. 

Love to Write? Love your Writing.
For me, sometimes I struggle to accept my writing as it is. Right now, flaws and all. It’s kind of like falling in love. Those first few months or years are heady, full of joy and excitement. But then you get down into the everyday normality of being in a relationship. That’s where real committment comes in. This is the point where many couples break up. When writers quit writing. When dreamers, stop dreaming and stop pursuing their goals. It’s a dangerous zone to be in.

Get Your “GaGa” On!

  1. Find a way to continually fall in love with our writing — day after day.
  2. Don’t force it. Simply open your eyes and look at what you’ve done so far.
  3. Review your goals. Think about why you are doing this in the first place…
  4. And then say those vows again. Recommit yourself to your writing.

Tell yourself “I love you. I love my writing. I love what I doing right now. At this moment, I’m successful. Because I’m doing what I love. No matter what.”

How do you fall in love with your writing? Tell me!

MLUV:) Be Blessed!

Dominique

2 responses to “Falling in Love with Your Writing

  1. This is a great post, and it comes at a great time. 🙂 I fall back in love with my writing when I read something I haven’t looked at for a while, and it makes me laugh or I turn the pages faster to see how things go, as if I hadn’t written it. 🙂 Writing isn’t always easy, but it’s definitely worth the commitment.

  2. Hi Donna! Thank you for reading and commenting! I think that’s awesome, and a great way to fall in love with your writing. I must admit, I have a hard time going back and reading what I’ve already written. I’m not sure why, but I’m a musician too, and I have a hard time listening to myself on recordings. But maybe, I’ll pretend I didn’t write it…and that will make it easier! 🙂

Leave a Reply

